Establishment of Pathology Program

The Australian Digital Health Agency is pleased to announce the establishment of a new Pathology Program.

The Agency is working towards having pathology and diagnostic imaging results available in a single location and accessible by consumers and healthcare providers. This will enhance clinical management and care by reducing wasted clinical time trying to locate results, and avoiding unnecessary repeat tests where a healthcare provider is unable to obtain access to a result or is unaware that a test has been previously performed.

This work is in line with the Agency's vision of giving people more control of their health and care by better access to information.

The Pathology Program's Executive Sponsor is Dr Monica Trujillo, the Agency's Executive General Manager Clinical and Consumer Engagement and Clinical Governance, and Chief Clinical Information Officer. The Agency welcomes the Program Co-Chairs and Co-Sponsors Dr Steve Hambleton and Dr Robert Herkes.

The first Steering Group meeting took place in Sydney on Monday 6 February 2017 with 18 members in attendance representing a range of healthcare peak bodies and consumer groups. The group will meet quarterly. A list of organisations represented at the Steering Group is at the end of the Communique.

The Steering Group will ensure the Pathology Program is aligned with sector expectations and delivers outcomes that improve interoperability, quality, safety and access to pathology results.

The group's immediate priority is to support the existing work program which comprises initiatives in Queensland, New South Wales, Tasmania, the ACT and Northern Territory. In these locations pathology tests from public hospitals will be shared with the My Health Record system.

The program will also see early adopters from the private sector share pathology results with the My Health Record system and the Steering Group will assist with evaluation of these early implementations so that lessons learned can inform subsequent projects.

Steering Group members

  • Australian Commission for Safety and Quality in Health Care
  • Australian eHealth Research Centre
  • Australia Medical Association
  • Consumer Health Forum
  • Department of Health (Medical Benefits Division)
  • Pathology Australia
  • Public Pathology Australia
  • Royal Australasian College of Physicians
  • Royal Australian College of General Practitioners
  • Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia


Media contact:

Alison Sweeney Senior Communications and Media Officer 02 8298 2669 / 0414 187 350 [email protected]