Skip to main content

Australian Digital Health Standards Advisory Group

Providing specialist advice on digital health standards to the Australian Digital Health Agency and Council for Connected Care


Meeting calendar

Standards Advisory Group 
2024 Meeting Dates 

Upcoming meetings:

September 2024

Past meetings:

24 June 2024

18 March 2024

14 December 2023

20 September 2023

Terms of reference

Standards Advisory Group 
Endorsed Terms of Reference

Download: Standards Advisory Group - Terms of Reference, December 2023 (PDF, 264.34 KB) 

About the Australian Digital Health Standards Advisory Group

The Group provides strategic and technical advice to the Council for Connected Care and the Agency regarding the development, implementation and use of digital health standards. The group is pivotal in ensuring that Australia can achieve a more connected healthcare system through the use of standards that support safe, secure and seamless sharing of information to improve healthcare experiences and patient outcomes.

Role of the Standards Advisory Group

The Standards Advisory Group will:

  • Provide advice to the Council for Connected Care on digital health standards
  • Facilitate and support the implementation of the Connecting Australian Healthcare – National Healthcare Interoperability Plan 2023-2028
  • Identify priority areas for future standards use, development and implementation to support digital health in Australia
  • Provide advice on the National Digital Health Standards Catalogue


The Standards Advisory Group membership comprises of a broad representation of digital health stakeholders and standards development organisations.

Member list

Professor Wendy Chapman - ChairAssociate Dean of Digital Health and InformaticsUniversity of Melbourne
Ms Danielle BancroftChief Product Owner, Best Practice SoftwareMedical Software Industry Association
Ms Vicki BennettUnit Head, Metadata, Information Management and ClassificationsAustralian Institute of Health and Welfare
Mr John BorchiChief Technology OfficerAustralian Digital Health Agency
Mr Gary CampbellSenior Business AnalystAustralian Digital Health Agency
Mr Reuben DanielsBoard DirectorHL7™ Australia
Ms Kate EbrillInteroperability LeadAustralian e-Health Research Centre, CSIRO
Associate Professor Berne GibbonsStandards Stakeholder Engagement AdvisorAustralian Digital Health Agency
Mr Toby HodgsonDigital Health Senior ManagerMedical Technology Association of Australia
Mr Philip HoyleNational Manager, Digital Health BranchServices Australia
Ms Cath KoetzDirector, Standards AdoptionAustralian Digital Health Agency
Ms Anne LivingstoneExecutive LeadAged Care Industry Information Technology Council
Dr Vince McCauleyChair, IHE AustraliaIntegrating the Healthcare Enterprise
Mr Ryan MavinBranch Manager, Connected CareAustralian Digital Health Agency
Dr Paul MilesDirector, eHealth and Medication SafetyAustralian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
Ms Lisa MurphyDirector StandardsAustralian Digital Health Agency
Mr Peter O’HalloranChief Digital OfficerAustralian Digital Health Agency
Ms Jo RootPolicy DirectorConsumers Health Forum of Australia
Mr Ben RussellEngagement Manager – Health SectorStandards Australia
Ms Sue SchmidGeneral Manager, Global Programs and StandardsGS1 Australia
Mr Jeremy SullivanDirector, Digital Connectivity and StandardsDepartment of Health and Aged Care
Mr Mark UptonDirector, Strategy Information Management and GovernanceTasmanian Department of Health
Mr Peter WilliamsExecutive Director Healthcare Industry, Oracle Japan and Asia PacificAustralian Industry Information Association